Paypal Scammers are trying to scam you AGAIN!
Written by David Noel-Davies   

Bogus E-Mails are around again, this time targeting Papal users, An E-Mail I received today is trying to get con me into opening a bogus hyperlink, supposedly sending me to Paypal.com but in fact sending you to http://www.smokinsweetbbq.com/www.paypal.com/webscr.php?cmd=_login-run
 

The Bogus e-mail is shown below:

yes

As part of our security measures, we regularly screen activity in the PayPal system. We recently contacted you after noticing an issue on your account. We requested information from you for the following reason:

We have reason to believe that your account was accessed by a third party.
Because protecting the security of your account is our primary concern, we have limited access to sensitive PayPal account features. We understand that this may be an inconvenience but please understand that this temporary limitation is for your protection.

Case ID Number: PP-102-084-644

This is a reminder to log in to PayPal as soon as possible.
In accordance with PayPal's User Agreement, your account access will remain limited until the issue has been resolved. Unfortunately, if access to your account remains limited for an extended period of time, it may result in further limitations or eventual account closure. We encourage you to log in to your PayPal account as soon as possible to help avoid this.

To securely confirm your PayPal information please click on the link bellow:

https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run

We thank you for your prompt attention to this matter. Please understand that this is a security measure intended to help protect you and your account. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Sincerely,
PayPal Account Review Department
PayPal Email ID PP638

Amazingly the Paypal gif they use is sucked down directly from an SSL website, but that is about the only thing that is genuine about this message.

As all website companies focus on letting you know that "they will never ask you for your username and password" the scammers are now trying to social engineer the information out of you by a 'fake' website that will resemble the Paypal login page that you are so used to seeing.

We don't need to tell you that this is a big no-no, and they didn't even go to to much trouble to disguise the URL very well, in you click on there link the full URL is displayed in the browser, so as always Keep your eyes peeled to make sure that the information your typing into a password box is going to the right people.

Comments
Add New Search RSS
Write comment
Name:
Email:
 
Website:
Title:
UBBCode:
[b] [i] [u] [url] [quote] [code] [img] 
 
 
:angry::0:confused::cheer:B):evil::silly::dry::lol::kiss::D:pinch:
:(:shock::X:side::):P:unsure::woohoo::huh::whistle:;):s
:!::?::idea::arrow:
 
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.

3.26 Copyright (C) 2008 Compojoom.com / Copyright (C) 2007 Alain Georgette / Copyright (C) 2006 Frantisek Hliva. All rights reserved."